Club Notes 12.12.16

The 2016 AGM was held in the club pavilion on Friday evening and the following officers were elected to serve for 2017.

Chairman Gerard Cassidy; Vice Chairman Phil Flanagan; Secretary Sean Murphy; Assistant Secretary Conor Foy; Treasurer Michael Corey; Assistant Treasurer Barry Fee; Youth Officer Adrian Bogue; PRO Damian Campbell; Child Protection Officers Anne Marie Kelly and Kirsty Gallagher; School Liasion Officer Teresa McNabb; Delegates to Co Board John McElroy and Damian Campbell; Senior team management Sean Breen and Declan McStravick; Coaching Officer Stephen Jackson; Lifestyle and Health Officer Vonnie Fee; I T Officer Eamon Fee; Integration Officer Phil Flanagan; Cultural Officer Eamon Fee.

The youth committee had held their own AGM a few weeks previously and had sought ratification of the following managerial posts for the various age grades.

Minor Seamus Breen; Under 14 Shane Breen and Declan Connolly; Under 12 Leo Monaghan and Eamon Fee; Under 10 Patrick Mallon, Stephen McElroy, Declan Breen and Adrian Bogue.

The management of the under 16 side will be finalised at the next meeting when some issues have been addressed.

In their respective reports the chairman and secretary covered the full gamut of club activities over the past season.

Both expressed disappointment at the relatively poor season at senior level, the team relegation to some extent counter balanced by the achievement of reaching the intermediate final and admission back to the 2017 senior championship.

There was however recognition that there had been every expectation that due to circumstances that the year was always going to be an extremely difficult one and players and management were commended on the effort they had put in over the year.

At under age level it was a much more encouraging report with healthy numbers of boys and girls in more or less every grade and a number of titles had been won indicating that future success could be achieved in the coming seasons. Especially encouraging was the numbers attending the Tempo Og programme which had been organised on three separate eight week sessions at varying times during the year.

There was disappointment also that the Field Development had not made significant progress, inclement weather the prime factor here, but the coming Spring will hopefully see the long awaited major work up and running.

There was warm appreciation of the terrific response to the Club Tempo five year scheme which has over 100 hundred members, clear indication of the support which the Maguires enjoys in the parish.

An open evening in the club pavilion on Friday December 16th from 7-8 pm will have club merchandise for sale and the opportunity to collect pre ordered gear. Details of merchandise can be obtained on the club website or Facebook page.

The January meeting has been scheduled for Monday 9th and main item here will be the financial report.

Winner of the end of year £1 000 prize in the Club Tempo fundraiser was John Leonard of Garvary and congratulations go to him.

The Lotto jackpot for last weekend was not won the numbers drawn being 10 11 15 and 20. Winners of the two £25 prizes were Teresa McCaughey, Tempo and Pauline Robinson. The jackpot for next weekend is £6 000 and the team on duty for Saturdays December 17 and 24 is Adrian Bogue, Leo Monaghan, Ryan Bogue and Ciaran Campbell.

Posted in Uncategorized.