Minor Championship match report – Tempo Maguires v Newtownbutler First Fermanaghs

Tempo Minors v Newtownbutler First Fermanagh’s

The first phase of minor championship football took place tonight in Brookeborough, with an easy dismantling of Newtownbutler. The first twenty minutes set up the tone for the rest of the game with Lorcan McStravick weaving through the Newtown defence both scoring and creating scoring opportunities for the rest of the side. However Oisin Jackson, Caolan Corry and Ryan Breen also contributed a lot, going forward scoring points with ease and showing great composure in front of goal . Defensively, Tempo were sound with players like Ronan McCaffrey, Ruairi Kelly and Ciaran Rafferty showing great form, decision-making, running the ball out and making it easy for players further forward to get on the ball and finish decisively. In the second half however, Newtownbutler found their feet with a fantastic strike coming from the agile wing half forward. Newtown may have scored more if it weren’t for Liam Magee’s unbelievable shot stopping abilities denying Newton to find the net on at least two occasions. As the second half came to a close Tempo were still the dominant force with Matthew Kerr coming off the bench and making an impact. Tempo went on to further their lead with two powerful shots from Matthew Kerr putting the game further from the grasp of the First Fermanagh’s. Overall, a promising performance with many portends of ability for the future of the campaign. Full time score: Tempo 13-15; Newtonbutler 2- 4.

Minor B champions


DSC_0175 DSC_0178 DSC_0180 DSC_0181 DSC_0182 DSC_0183

Congratulations Declan, Brendan, and Sean in leading Tempo minors to B championship success, defeating Teemore by 1-12 to 1-7 in Maguiresbridge tonight.